Windows 7 Drivers for Asus P5VD2-MX SE

Asus doesn’t provide drivers for the P5VD2-MX SE motherboard for Windows 7 on their website, but that didn’t stop me from upgrading my aging system from XP Pro to the shiny 7.

Windows 7 installs pretty well, but the video and audio drivers are generic. The audio doesn’t work, and the video driver is “just-ok”, but not as fast as it should be. Windows Updates doesn’t have audio and video drivers for this board – at least, not as of this writing.

After doing some browsing in the Asus forums, I found a post by someone suggesting to go to the Realtek website and getting the drivers from there. So, that’s whath I did, and downloaded the audio drivers for the system. Before installing the driver, I recommend creating a Restore Point, just in case you run into trouble. The installation went well as expected, although I received a Windows warning telling me “the publisher isn’t verified…”, but I disregarded the message, and the installation finished successfully. I had sound even without restarting my PC!

The link to download the audio drivers for your P5VD2-MX SE board running Windows 7 is here: p5vd2-mx se audio drivers.  I suggest grabbing a cup of coffee or the newspaper, because although the file is fairly small (74.7 MB), the download speed is slow… took me about 25 – 30 minutes on a 1.5 mbps connection.

I thought I’d have the same luck with the video driver, and headed over to the “S3 Graphics UniChrome Pro” website,  but couldn’t find the appropriate driver to download. After some “googling”, I found a forum post by someone suggesting to download the XP-64 bit drivers and the line “FeatureScore = FC” to the inf file. Tried that, but didn’t work.

I guess I’ll continue to use the system as it is, and keep looking for the video driver. That, or just buy a plain, cheap, video card.

~ by ortuno2k on 11/04/2010.

16 Responses to “Windows 7 Drivers for Asus P5VD2-MX SE”

  1. Follow-up note: I had no need to search for drivers for the on-board video card. I ended up installing an old NVidia 9500 video card which I had laying around, and downloaded the drivers from the NVidia site. Working great so far. A lot faster and better than I expected.

  2. can you please point me to the direct download link for this driver
    thanks

  3. thanks, I will
    try that.

  4. great article. for me i had it the other way around. i got the video card driver working quickly but the audio driver didnt.

    here is the file i beleive i used to get the intergrated graphics card to work for a asus p5vd2-mx se motherboard.
    K8M800-K8N800_220001x_XP_wIShld.zip
    use google to find the file, i may have downloaded it from the asus website for this board using the xp 32 bit regular driver and not the vista 32 64 or xp64 driver.
    i forced the driver using the device manager and restarted.

    both the link that ortuno2k posted and the link that you posted both dont show a driver with the size of 74.7 or anthing close to that. i downloaded the windows 7 driver from the realtek website which was 80 something mb.
    and now i just got the sound working!

    i hope this helps someone

  5. hey guys have you checked this link out …am trying it out am not sure whether it will help… http://www.driversforfree.com/mmn_msr_mmd_os/asus/intel-socket-775/p5vd2-mx/windows-7-64-bit/drivers.aspx … the last three links …maybe they will help. Right now my computer is not even bringing out a shred of sound….coz I isntalled Win 7 on that ASUS P5DV2 MX motherboard

  6. @Juan are the audio drivers 74.7MB or 7.47MB…BECAUSE THATS THE ONE I GOT

  7. link please for the audio driver i cant seem to find it…or the name of the audio driver

    • Hi, sorry, I haven’t used that motherboard in a while, so I’m not sure if the location of the drivers changed.
      Just do a search on Google for “audio drivers P5VD2-MX SE Windows 7″ and you should get some results.
      Good luck.

  8. You saved my time. Thank You for this information.

  9. Two places where you can get the video drivers:
    http://majorgeeks.com/VIAS3G_UniChrome_Pro_IGP_d7287.html
    http://download.cnet.com/VIA-S3G-UniChrome-Pro-IGP/3000-2108_4-146347.html

    Thanks.

  10. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i
    thought i could also make comment due to this sensible piece of writing.

  11. where i find video driver p5vd2-mx se for windows 7 64/bit

  12. Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your articles.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

