Posted in Computers, Linux, Ubuntu

Help! Deleted /var folder contents

How did it happen?

Thinking that it would help me free up space on my /var partition, I logged on as root and did: rm -R *
It took a few seconds, and gave me an error about being unable to delete the “lock” and another folder.

Shortly after that, I tried to do an update using aptitude and apt-get, but get this error:

What am I to do?
Well, for starters – learn my lesson: Never, EVER delete anything from those system partitions without knowing what I’m deleting. Next time, a quick Google search should help me clean out my /var folder.

Next thing that I’ll do is run the Ubuntu Live CD and try to recover the system from there. I’ll add results later.

UPDATE:

After searching the Internet and browsing the Ubuntu forums without much luck, I found a post which helped me get apt-get and aptitude working.

What I did: Create each folder that apt-get and aptitude were asking for.
For the /var/lib/dpkg/status (status) file, I had to “touch” a new file. It was then that sudo aptitude update worked.
# sudo touch /var/lib/dpkg/status

Now – the only problem so far is that the system no longer “remembers” the programs that are installed, but at least apt-get and aptitude are operational once again. From further readings, it seems that after deleting the contents of /var, a reinstall of the operating system may be necessary. This doesn’t cause much of an inconvenience for me, since I’ve been thinking of doing so for quite a few days now.

Leave a Reply

