Posted in Computers, Windows 8

Windows 8 Consumer Preview on SSD

I just installed Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250 on my system after playing with it on a virtual machine for a while. While configuring my system, looking at different settings and such, I noticed that the defrag screen recognizes my SSD as a solid state drive, and tells me that it needs optimization.

I thought defragmenting a solid state drive was a bad idea? Windows 7 disables this by default if it recognizes the drive as SSD.

I’m not sure how different the defrag program on Windows 8 is from different versions, so I’m a little concerned about letting it optimize my SSD.

The SSD is the Agility 3 60GB. See image below.

Has anyone else come across this, and if so, what have you done?

6 thoughts on “Windows 8 Consumer Preview on SSD

  1. I have Win8 installed on an SSD and noticed this also. It turns out Microsoft has generalized this utility to “optimization” in Windows 8, and what that entails depends on the kind of disk: convention HDs get conventional defragging; SSDs get TRIM commands. That probably doesn’t do much for most SSDs under most circumstances, since the filesystem should be sending TRIM commands down as things get deleted anyway (assuming your hardware supports TRIM). But in cases where the system has been doing massive amounts of file deletion, and/or the SSD has relatively lazy garbage collection that doesn’t always keep up, it might give the SSD another opportunity to free up some space.

    Try invoking the optimization manually: you should see it briefly report “Trimming” and then finish up — clearly it isn’t attempting an actual defrag (you can also verify this by looking in the event log, or, if you’re really paranoid, there are utilities that allow you to monitor ATA commands).

    See also: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w8itprogeneral/thread/f97425f8-3857-4aa4-9cf5-437d5e212c9c

    1. Joe,

      Thanks for your comment. I did the defrag on the SSD because it was telling me that it needed optimization, and I was able to see the defrag program “trimming” the SSD; that’s what showed up on the progress screen while it did it. It was pretty fast, and I don’t believe it harmed anything.

      One thing I didn’t like from the Microsoft forum post is that the event gets posted as a “defrag” event on the logs, instead of an optimization or trimming of the drive. No big deal, but hopefully they fix it to display the correct information.

      Thanks for sharing your experience and your thoughts!

      1. Yes, I’ve been meaning to report a bug on that. I would think that they already have that as a work item, but these are the kind of low-priority / low-severity things that can get skipped/deferred in crunch mode with a looming ship date; having more field-reported bugs at least tells them people have noticed.

  2. Good post Juan! I just installed Win 8 CP on an Asus Eee 1215 that has a Corsair F40 SSD that I installed earlier this year. (I was running Linux on it, which doesn’t require defrag even on platter drives). I remember reading a while back about Windows and SSDs and NOT to run defrag because it will cause damage, but it’s been so long since I read up on this stuff. A Google search brought me here, and Joe’s link to that forum put my mind at ease about what is going on with this new system.

    Thanks, to you and Joe, for the help.

  3. I used the optimize and when I viewed the logs I noticed under General it read ” Defrager retrimed the drive successfully” or similar to that effect.

Leave a Reply

